Winners of 25th Irish Food Writers’ Guild Food Awards announced

Sharon Hearne-Smith, Ross Golden Bannon and Michelle Darmody at the 2019 Food Writers Guild Awards

The 25th Irish Food Writers’ Guild Food Awards have taken place, with a range of businesses from up and down Ireland being selected as winners of the prestigious accolades.



Read More:

12 March 2019 | 0

Now in its 25th year, the Irish Food Writers’ Guild Food Awards celebrate indigenous food producers and organisations who help to maintain Ireland’s outstanding reputation in food and drink. This year, three producers from Northern Ireland and five from counties including Cork, Louth and Dublin were selected for an award, demonstrating the all-island approach that, as a nation, we take to food production, supply and quality standards.

The winners of the 25th Irish Food Writers’ Guild Food Awards are:

  • Cheesemakers Dan Hegarty for Teampall Gael Cheese (Co. Cork) and Mike Thomson for Young Buck Cheese (Co. Down)
  • Andrew and Leonie Workman for Dunany Organic Spelt Berries (Co. Louth)
  • Barry Walsh and Kate Watson of Killahora Orchards for Rare Apple Ice Wine (Co. Cork)
  • Colin Harmon of 3fe Coffee (Co. Dublin)
  • Charlie Cole of Broughgammon Farm (Co. Antrim)
  • Caitriona Twomey of Cork Penny Dinners, which won a Community Food Award
  • And Peter Hannan (Co. Down) who was presented with a lifetime achievement award

The IFWG Food Awards are unique, as no one can enter themselves or their product into the awards and no company knows it has been nominated or shortlisted for an award.


Read More:

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑