Irish Food Writers’ Guild Awards 2024 winners announced

IFWG Awards 2024
Irish Food Writers’ Guild Awards 2024 winners. Photo: Paul Sherwood.

Sustainable excellence celebrated at Irish Food Writers’ Guild Food Awards



29 February 2024

Share this post:



Irish Food Writers’ Guild (IFWG) has announced its 2024 award winners.

Now in its 31st year, the ceremony took place at Suesey Street on Tuesday, 27 February.

The winners of the 2024 Irish Food Writers’ Guild Food Awards are:

  • Food Award: Carlingford Oysters, Co Louth.
  • Food Award: Regan Organic Chicken, Co Wexford.
  • Food Award: Roll It All Butter Pastry, Co Meath.
  • Irish Drink Award: Valentia Island Vermouth, Co Kerry.
  • Notable Contribution to Irish Food: Conor Spacey, Co Dublin.
  • Environmental Award: Rare Ruminare, Co Sligo.  
  • Community Food Award: Cork Urban Soil Project, Co Cork.
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Peter and Mary Ward of Country Choice, Co Tipperary.


Caroline Hennessy, chair of the IFWG addressed food industry guests at the event.

“Notwithstanding the challenges facing small food and drink businesses right now, we have a sector of which we can be extremely proud,” she noted.

“Today’s IFWG Food Awards are a celebration as we shine a light on exemplars of the country’s thriving, world-class artisan food and drink industry.

“But Ireland’s producers need support from government, from supermarket and restaurant buyers and from consumers who want to eat and drink exceptional and sustainably sourced Irish produce.

“From oysters to organic meats and chicken, traditionally made pastry and Ireland’s first and only vermouth, this year’s winning produce together with our chosen producers and innovators are the heart and soul of our domestic food industry and they deserve our support.”

Recent article: Irish Food Writers’ Guild celebrates 30 years Of Food Awards




Share this post:

Back to Top ↑

Shelflife Magazine