Three new members appointed to Competition Authority

Gerald Fitzgerald has been appointed as head of the Monopolies Division
Gerald Fitzgerald has been appointed as head of the Monopolies Division

Three new appointments have been made to the Competition Authority



16 December 2011

Share this post:



The Minister for Jobs, Enterprise and Innovation, Richard Bruton has appointed three new members to the Competition Authority.

Professor Stephen Calkins took up his appointment as head of the Authority’s Mergers Division on 1 December. Calkins was vice president and professor at Wayne State University Law School in Detroit where he lectured in competition law.

On 5 December Gerald FitzGerald took up his appointment as head of the Monopolies Division. Mr FitzGerald has already served as a temporary member of the authority but will now take up a permanent post.

The third appointee, Patrick Kenny, will take up his appointment on 9 January 2012, and will head up the Cartels Division. Kenny currently works with ComReg as a senior economic advisor. He also worked for several years in the Competition Authority as both an economist and a divisional manager.

Announcing the appointments, Minister Bruton said he was delighted that such highly qualified personnel have agreed to serve as Members of the Competition Authority. “These three people bring with them a wealth of experience and knowledge that will greatly assist the authority in its important work and I wish them well in their roles.

“As I have said repeatedly, we must work hard to reduce costs across the economy if we are to create an environment in Ireland in which job-creating businesses can start-up, grow and succeed.

“One key aspect of this is ensuring that there is effective prevention of anti-competitive practices which hurt the ordinary consumer, small business,



Share this post:

Back to Top ↑

Shelflife Magazine