Bord Iascaigh Mhara seeks entries for the 2018 National Seafood Awards

The 2018 National Seafood Awards take place in November
The 2018 National Seafood Awards take place in November

Bord Iascaigh Mhara is seeking entries for the 2018 Irish Seafood Awards, which reward innovation and inventiveness in the sector as well as quality.



Read More:

3 August 2018

Share this post:



Bord Iascaigh Mhara (BIM), Ireland’s seafood development agency, has announced the 2018 National Seafood Awards is now open for entries with ten categories to vie for. The Awards, dedicated to recognising the achievements of individuals and businesses revolutionising the Irish seafood sector under the key themes of Sustainability, Innovation and Competitiveness, will be held in Dublin’s Christ Church Cathedral on 27 November.

Jim O’Toole, CEO of BIM said the awards are a way to celebrate the achievements within the sector. “There are cutting-edge innovators in the seafood sector,” he said, “who are helping to build the reputation and value of Irish seafood on a national and global level.”

The biennial National Seafood Awards, first launched in 2016, highlight some of the extraordinary individuals and businesses who form part of Ireland’s seafood sector, which employs more than 14,000, contributed some €1.15billion to Ireland’s GDP in 2017 and is a vital source of sustainable economic support to coastal communities throughout Ireland.

This year’s categories include:

  • Best in Fishing Innovation
  • Best in Aquaculture Innovation
  • Best in Processing Innovation
  • Best in Sustainable Fishing
  • Best in Sustainable Aquaculture
  • Best in Sustainable Processing
  • Fishing Enterprise of the Year
  • Aquaculture Enterprise of the Year
  • Processing Enterprise of the Year
  • Best seafood retailer of the year.

Two special awards, Best Student of the Year and a Lifetime Achievement Award, will be decided by the BIM National Seafood Awards team.   Full entry details, along with entry forms and terms and conditions are available on the website:

The deadline for entries is 5pm on 14 September, 2018.




Share this post:

Read More:

Back to Top ↑

Shelflife Magazine